Griffith: Day 9

Teaching in Griffith

After getting home at around 11:30pm the night before, I was not at all ready to get out of bed too quickly. I stayed warm and snug for a while, before finally crawling out to have some green tea, and a couple of pieces of ALDI’s high-end raisin toast (which I can seriously recommend).

After a relaxing breakfast, my housemate and I wandered out to the Griffith Rotary Markets, where farmers sell local produce, and there are plenty of secondhand items, artisanal foods and handmade ornaments/jewellery. Although I failed to take many photos there, I did get one of some very cute hand-made plush elephants, which you can see below.

IMG_20170528_111453.jpg

After the farmer’s market, we headed to the ‘Second Hand Shoppe’ (complete with olde tyme spelling). There were many useless things here, but equally many pretty wonderful things. I happened across several bikes more lovely than my own, but decided if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. (Not entirely true, as my bike only has 2/3 gears at a stretch, and has only one slightly functional brake.)

Of the many interesting and odd things in the place, a couple did catch my eye. I am now the proud owner of a jazz guitar handbook (complete with CD and worth $40), and Tim Winton’s Cloudstreet (which I have wanted to read forever). The only other picture of for Sunday is an image of my lucky book finds, which only cost me $2 all up. The rest of Sunday I spent doing work at school with many of the other English staff. It seems I’m truly getting a sense of the never-ending work these people do.

IMG_20170531_172146.jpg

Two books I’d been meaning to pick up in Sydney for quite some time. 

One thought on “Griffith: Day 9

Leave a Reply

